top of page
Search

When The Lights Are Off - With Rex Sharp: Sabine AD

Most coaches are seen under the Friday night lights, yelling plays from the sidelines and giving pep talks to their players. Who are these people that put in countless hours with your child? What drives them? What makes them tick?


I am putting together an interview series with some of the top East Texas coaches. Let's find out just who these people are that typically spend more time with our kids than most us do as parents.


We got to sit down with Rex Sharp, Athletic Director of Sabine ISD, and ask him a few questions.


What got you into coaching?


I knew in 4th grade that I wanted to be a coach. I had older brothers playing sports and I was lucky enough to be a manager/ball boy starting in 4th grade and it was cemented in me to be a coach.


In your opinion what makes a successful Athletic Director?


First, you better be organized and be able to manage and lead people. It is easy dealing with “good” things but you better have the skill set to handle the “bad” stuff. Second, out work all the staff you are responsible to lead. No one will put in more hours than me. I try to go to as many events as possible so that our kids see me and know that I want all our programs to be successful and will support all kids and coaches. Third, hire the best coaches I can find. My program is only as good as the coaches that surround me. They are in the trenches with kids and I want coaches who love kids, work their tails off, and hold themselves and our kids accountable.


What brought you to Sabine?


I was transitioning from the AD/Head job at Bullard and I took one coaching year off and landed in Union Grove as an administrator. A football coordinator position opened up at Sabine the following year and I got the job. I have held numerous admin/coaching jobs at Sabine. This next year will be my 3rd as the AD/Head Football coach.


Where do you see yourself in 10 years?


In the perfect setting, I hope to be wrapping up my career and possibly retiring at that time with the Sabine Football program being one that all of East Texas respects as a highly competitive program year after year.





What drives Rex Sharp?


I like to work! The most rewarding thing is seeing young people, through athletics, become good citizens. Athletics is one of the last strongholds of discipline, other than the military in this country. I try and build relationships with my players that will last a lifetime. They know I could care less about how many games we win compared to how much I want them to be good husbands, fathers, citizens. I consider myself a father to many of my players...and I do not take that lightly. They know I have their back in times of need!


Tell us 3 things we need to know about Rex Sharp.


I am a Texas A&M grad.

I am hard-headed.

I do not care for laziness, excuses, or lack of integrity.


Who was your mentor in coaching and why?


John Beauchamp, my head football coach at Carlisle. He was such an awesome man. He loved his players and would fight for us to no end if someone tried to tear down what our program values were. He was tough on us, really tough, but he loved us like his own kids.


How hard is it to juggle work and personal life?


It is now much easier since my sons are adults. Unless a person has some type of connection to coaching, people on the “outside” have no idea the amount of hours coaches put in away from their families. It is a very difficult balancing act of family and job. We are with kids more than their own family unit many times. It really bothers me when parents think they know what my agenda ought to be…. and then not respect or support what we try to do, not just for their kid, but all kids!


What do your kids at Sabine mean to you?


They are my kids...and I love them! We have awesome kids here and they will work their tails off for us coaches. The relationships I build with my players are genuine!

381 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page